

CF MONTERREY FINAL SCCL 2021

CLUB AMERICA



28-OCTOBER-2021 | 10:00 PM ET | BBVA BANCOMER STADIUM

## **CF MONTERREY vs. CLUB AMERICA**

The data is from the 2008-2009 season to the present.

- ★ It will be the 13th Final between Mexican teams in the history of the contest.
- ★ The title will go to a Mexican club for 16 consecutive years since 2005, when Deportivo Saprissa (CRC) was champion in the Final against Pumas UNAM.
- ★ Finals between Mexican clubs in SCCL (Includes the former Concacaf Champions Cup):
  - 1. 2002: Pachuca (Champion) and Morelia (Runner-up).
  - 2. 2003: Deportivo Toluca (Champion) and Morelia (Runner-up).
  - 3. 2006: Club América (Champion) and Deportivo Toluca (Runner-up).
  - 4. 2007: Pachuca (Champion) and CD Guadalajara (Runner-up).
  - 5. 2008/09: Atlante FC (Champion) and Cruz Azul (Runner-up).
  - 6. 2009/10: Pachuca (Champion) and Cruz Azul (Runner-up).
  - 7. 2011/12: CF Monterrey (Champion) and Santos Laguna (Runner-up).
  - 8. 2012/13: CF Monterrey (Champion) and Santos Laguna (Runner-up).
  - 9. 2013/14: Cruz Azul (Champion) and Deportivo Toluca (Runner-up).
  - 10. 2015/16: Club América (Champion) and Tigres UANL (Runner-up).
  - 11. 2016/17: Pachuca (Champion) and Tigres UANL (Runner-up).

**12.** 2019: CF Monterrey (Champion) and Tigres UANL (Runner-up).

- ★ It will be the 37th Concacaf Champions League title for a club from Mexico (includes the above formats). The Mexican teams have 36 Championships and 18 Runners-up in the history of the competition.
- ★ Mexican champions clubs: Club América (7), Cruz Azul (6), Pachuca (5), CF Monterrey (4), Pumas UNAM (3), Deportivo Toluca (2), CD Guadalajara (2), Atlante FC (2), Necaxa, Atlético Español FC, Leones Negros de la U. de G., Puebla and Tigres UANL.
- ★ Rayados and Club América never lost a Final in the history of the Concacaf Champions League.
- ★ They were rivals in the Second Round (Central American Zone) of the 1987 Concacaf Champions Cup where America Won 5 -3 on aggregate (year in which they would be champion by defeating defence force of Trinidad & Tobago in the final).

**Club América 3-3 CF Monterrey** (Carlos Hermosillo x2 and Robinson Hernández; Mario Mota Souza, Francisco Javier Cruz and José Francisco Romero), Estadio Azteca (23 SEP 1987).

CF Monterrey 0-2 Club América (Carlos Hermosillo), Estadio Tecnológico (30 SEP 1987).

- ★ Club América will play its 8th SCCL final -record with Cruz Azul- (includes Concacaf Champions Cup). For its part, CF Monterrey will be present in its 5th final.
- ★ Between both clubs they played 11 finals with 100% efficiency. In addition, they did not lose any matches in the final series.

## **HISTORICAL PARTIES**

- CF Monterrey and Club América met on 62 occasions in the history of Liga MX short tournaments with 27 wins for the Águilas (88 goals), 19 for Rayados (75 goals) and 16 draws.
- **CF Monterrey was home 31 times against Club América in Liga MX (short tournaments)** with 16 wins, 6 draws and 9 losses (49 goals for and 40 against).
- **They met 6 times in the Liga MX Liguillas:** 4 in semifinals (Clausura 2012, Clausura 2013, Apertura 2014 and Clausura 2016), 1 in quarterfinals (Apertura 2009) and 1 time in the Grand Final (Apertura 2019).
- The first meeting between the two teams in the history of the Liga MX short tournaments was with a 2-0 win over Las Aguilas in the 1996 Winter tournament.
- Club América was crowned champion of the Copa México of the 1963/64 Season by defeating Monterrey 5-4 in the definition by penalties after drawing 1-1 in regulation time at the Estadio Olímpico Universitario.
- Club América played its first Liga MX Semifinal against Monterrey in 1971. Some time later, Las Águilas beat the regiomontano team in the Quarterfinals in the 1983/84 tournament, a season in which they became champions in the grand final.

- Rayados won against Club América 3-1 in the penalty shootout in the 2010 Inter Liga Final and was champion (tournament that served as a qualification to the Conmebol Libertadores). The Mexican Guillermo Ochoa, current player of Club America, was the goalkeeper of the Eagles in that confrontation.
- CF Monterrey won again against Club América 3-0 in the penalty shootout of the Semifinals of the Copa MX Apertura 2017/18. Then, Las Aguilas won the final against Pachuca 1-0 with a goal from Avilés Hurtado and were the champions.
- Finally, as coach Antonio Mohamed (ARG), CF Monterrey beat América 4-2 in the penalty shootout of the grand final of the Apertura 2019 Tournament after drawing 3-3 on aggregate and became champion of the Liga MX at the Azteca Stadium.
- ★ In the last 8 matches in history (100% in Liga MX) both have 4 wins. The last draw of the series was goalless in Matchday 15 of the 2018 Clausura Tournament at the Estadio Azteca.

12 Mexican coaches were crowned champions in the history of SCCL (in all its formats):

- Javier de la Torre (CD Guadalajara) in 1962.
- Ignacio Trelles (Deportivo Toluca) in 1968.
- Raúl Cárdenas (Cruz Azul) in 1969.
- Raúl Cárdenas (Cruz Azul) in 1970.
- Raúl Cárdenas (Cruz Azul) in 1971.
- Raúl Cárdenas (Club América) in 1977.
- Gustavo Peña (University of Guadalajara) in 1978.
- Ignacio Trelles (Atlante FC) in 1983.
- Miguel Mejía Barón (Pumas UNAM) in 1989.
- Manuel Lapuente (Puebla) in 1991.
- Luis Fernando Tena (Cruz Azul) in 1996.
- Luis Fernando Tena (Cruz Azul) in 1997.
- Alfredo Tena (Pachuca) in 2002.
- Manuel Lapuente (Club America) in 2006.
- Enrique Meza (Pachuca) in 2007.
- Enrique Meza (Pachuca) in 2008.
- José Guadalupe Cruz (Atlante) in 2008/09.
- Víctor Manuel Vucetich (CF Monterrey) in 2010/11.
- Víctor Manuel Vucetich (CF Monterrey) in 2011/12.
- Víctor Manuel Vucetich (CF Monterrey) in 2012/13.
- Luis Fernando Tena (Cruz Azul) in 2013/14.
- Ignacio Ambriz (Club America) in 2015/16.